Mad Men – “For Immediate Release”

Image

Tyler Clements

Grade: A

These reviews will become shorter because I just started my new job, and cannot watch the show until Monday night. 

 

Anger – A strong feeling of annoyance, displeasure, or hostility.

 

“I want to make it clear, unless this works, I’m against it.”

Holy theme! Don may have been the angriest we’ve ever seen him while firing Herb. Then Pete almost comes to blows (again) in the office when Don fires Jaguar, and is furious that Vick chemical is leaving. I don’t really want to spend too much time on this other than to point out that it was there.

I loved this episode, mostly because it means a big shakeup in the way the show operates.  I want to know if ad agencies were really this volatile back in the 60’s. It seems like they’re always swinging between owners and size and clients, it seems much more stable now. I have a feeling some people are going to butt heads at the new agency, especially since Don and Roger went ahead and did this without the rest of the company knowing about it.

Thank God Roger was in this episode so much because he hasn’t really been in a ton of this season’s episodes for any lengths of time. I’m upset that he wasn’t physically in any scenes with Marie, because those two are great together. But how long do you think he was sleeping with the airline girl before that paid off for him? Ha! Love the small part where we see Sterling’s Gold, which Roger keeps in his to go bag. Also enjoyed the fact that Roger now shines his own shoes.

I kind of hate the Peggy/Chaough thing, but love that he’s becoming a more central character because it looks like we are going to have a new agency on our hands, SCDHCC (Sterling Cooper Draper Harris Cutler Chaough,) or whatever Peggy names it.

Extra Thoughts:

  • No Sally 😥
  • I want a Bob Benson spin-off entitled “Curious George Visits the Whorehouse”
  • Pete was exaggerating about the size of the prostitute. I went back and looked and she looked normal to me.
  • Next weeks theme: Heresy
Leave a Reply

