Zero Dark Thirty

 

zero-dark-thirty-2012-img03

Seen by: Tyler Clements

     There have been three major movies focused on real events in United States history this year. (That I can think of off the top of my head. Just go with it.) Lincoln dealt with the passing of the 13th amendment. Argoshowed how an undercover CIA operative got six people out of Iran during the Iran hostage crisis. And Zero Dark Thirty showed the manhunt and eventual assassination of Osama Bin Laden. I’ve seen all of these movies and can say with confidence that my favorite was Zero Dark Thirty. Maybe it’s because I was alive when all of the events took place or maybe the movie itself was just better.

     For me it boils down to the fact that going in to each of these movies I knew how they were going to end. This could be a good thing or a bad thing. In my opinion, for Lincoln it was bad. But for Argo and Zero Dark Thirtythey used the fact that you knew what was happening and tried to trick you. I remember thinking in Argo, “THERE’S NO WAY THEY’RE GETTING PAST THAT SECURITY!!” even though I knew they’d all be safe. And in ZDT I knew Bin Laden was going down, yet I felt this feeling throughout the movie that it was an impossible mission!

     But about ZDT specifically. The cast was amazing! Jessica Chastain killed it. Perfectly portrayed and you could feel her growing as a character throughout the movie as the years passed by. She went from this girl who was dropped in Pakistan to sit in on an inmate being tortured to the woman who caught Osama Bin Laden. I don’t even know who could beat her for the Oscar. Jason Clarke as Dan, Chastain’s mentor, was superb. Also, Burt Macklin apparently freelances for the Navy Seals!

Anyway, this is my favorite movie in years! YEARS! I need to see it again. Like now
Leave a Reply

